Canada Adds 3 More African Countries To Travel Ban List


#Omicron #Canada

Canada has banned entry for foreign nationals from three nations after concerns over the omicron variant of COVID-19 after the WHO labeled it as a variant of concern on November 26, 2021.

Based on data from ongoing surveillance and the latest public health advice, the Canadian government said it’s expanding the list of nations with entry prohibitions announced on November 26, 2021, to include Egypt, Malawi, and Nigeria.

In a press conference on Tuesday, Federal Health Minister Jean-Yves Duclos said foreign nationals from Nigeria, Malawi and Egypt who have been to those countries over the past two weeks will not be able to enter Canada. This adds to the seven other African countries barred by Canada on Friday: South Africa, Mozambique, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Lesotho, and Eswatini.

Canadians and permanent residents, as well as all those who have the right to return to Canada, who have transited through these countries over the past two weeks, will have to quarantine, be tested at the airport, and await their test results before exiting quarantine, Duclos said.

The testing requirement for Canadians and permanent residents will apply even if they are fully vaccinated, said Transport Minister Omar Alghbara. COVID-19 tests administered in the 10 listed countries will not be accepted, he said.

“Canadians will need to stop and obtain valid results in a third country before entering Canada,” Alghbara added.

All arrivals, except for arrivals from the USA, need to be tested on arrival at the airport and wait in self-quarantine until results are ready.

Canada detected its first omicron cases in Ontario on Sunday and Quebec on Monday. The provinces of Alberta and British Columbia detected their first cases from travelers coming from Nigeria.

Media Mayor Inc.

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.