Canada names 25-man roster for June friendly


The Canadian men’s national team’s roster is out for a June friendly and two Concacaf Nations League games, with the federation announcing head coach John Herdman’s 25-man squad on Wednesday.

The team features 10 players from MLS, including three from CF Montréal and two from LAFC. LA Galaxy fullback Raheem Edwards is back in camp, as are other regulars who helped Les Rouges qualify for their first World Cup since 1986 earlier this year, MLSsoccer reported.

“These are three opportunities to take steps forward with this group of players in preparation for the FIFA World Cup in Qatar,” Herdman said in a release. “Every minute together is crucial as we prepare to work collectively to give us the best chance to perform against some of the world’s best on the biggest stage.”

Canada will host World Cup-bound Iran in a friendly on June 5, then enter Group C Nations League play when hosting Curacao (June 9) and visiting Honduras (June 13). The first two matches are played at BC Place, home of Vancouver Whitecaps FC.

Former Whitecaps homegrown star Alphonso Davies is back with Canada after a COVID-related heart issue forced him to miss the team’s last two windows of World Cup qualifying. The one program newcomer is 17-year-old forward Luca Koleosho, who recently debuted for La Liga’s RCD Espanyol.

The full roster can be seen below, with Canada drawn into Group F at the World Cup later this fall alongside Belgium, Croatia, and Morocco.

Canada roster for Concacaf Nations League

Milan Borjan – Red Star Belgrade
Maxime Crépeau – LAFC
Dayne St. Clair – Minnesota United FC

Samuel Adekugbe – Hatayspor FC
Doneil Henry – LAFC
Alistair Johnston – CF Montréal
Scott Kennedy – SSV Jahn Regensburg
Richie Laryea – Nottingham Forest FC
Kamal Miller – CF Montréal
Steven Vitória – Moreirense FC

Raheem Edwards – LA Galaxy
Stephen Eustáquio – FC Porto
Atiba Hutchinson – Beşiktaş JK
Mark-Anthony Kaye – Colorado Rapids
Jonathan Osorio – Toronto FC
Samuel Piette – CF Montréal

Charles-Andreas Brym – FC Eindhoven
Tajon Buchanan – Club Brugge KV
Lucas Cavallini – Vancouver Whitecaps FC
Jonathan David – Lille OSC
Alphonso Davies – FC Bayern München
David Junior Hoilett – Reading FC
Luca Koleosho – RCD Espanyol
Cyle Larin – Beşiktaş JK
Iké Ugbo – ES Troyes AC

Media Mayor Inc.

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.